About IALA


The Council is the governing body of IALA, comprising 21 elected and three non-elected Councillors. The Council is elected by IALA National Members during a General Assembly and meets twice a year. At the last General Assembly, in Incheon (Republic of Korea) in May 2018, a new council was elected. A list of the current Councillors appears below:

Council Members

Country Member
Korea (Republic of) Ministry of Oceans and Fisheries (President)
Brazil Centro de Sinalizaçáo Náutica e Reparos (Vice President)
England Trinity House Lighthouse Service (Treasurer)
Australia Australian Maritime Safety Authority (Member)
Spain Puertos del Estado (Member)
Chile Armada de Chile, Directemar (Member)
China Maritime Safety Administration (Member)
Denmark Danish Maritime Authority (Member)
Finland Finnish Transport Agency (Member)
France Direction des Affaires Maritimes – DAM (Member)
Germany Wasser-Und Schiffahrtsdiektionen (Member)
India Directorate General of Lighthouses and Lightships (Member)
Singapore Maritime and Port Authority (Member)
Italy Italian Coast Guard (Member)
Japan Japan Coast Guard (Member)
South Africa Transnet National Ports Authority (Member)
Malaysia Light Dues Board Peninsular Malaysia (Member)
Netherlands Ministry of Infrastructure and the Environment (Member)
Norway Norwegian Coastal Administration (Member)
Morocco Direction des ports et du domaine public maritime (Member)
Canada Canadian Coast Guard (Member)
Sweden Swedish Maritime Administration (Member)
Turkey Directorate General of Coastal Safety – DGCS (Member)
USA The U.S. Coast Guard (Member)